Peaceful Morning

It’s early morning and I am the only one up. I’ve already done a load of laundry, picked up dog toys, and cleaned off the washer and dryer. I love Sunday mornings, being up alone with the quiet. I have my coffee, bills, computer, Facebook and a few magazines. This makes me happy. I am content being alone in the stillness of the early morning.

Mornings are full of magic. I sleep with no window coverings so that the sun greets me each morning and slowly awakens me to start the day. When I’m traveling and have to close the curtains because of all the lights, I hate the mornings, having to be awaken by the sound of an alarm and opening my eyes to darkness. I am lucky to live in the country, where the few lights that shine through my window at night don’t keep me up and I can enjoy the sunrise as I lay in bed slowly anticipating the day that is about to start. Now I don’t get to do this every day, but Sundays, pretty much always!

On Sundays I make a large pot of coffee and probably consume more caffeine than I should, but it makes up for the weekdays where I get one cup before rushing off to the office. In summer I sit on the deck or the patio, slowly sinking in the warmth of the sun and listening to the birds as they awake to the day. Now that it is cold, I am indoors, but glad I have lots of windows to still enjoy the view of nature in my backyard. One morning a young buck was just eating his breakfast in the yard. Those are the things I love. Today, its a bit cold, grey and the trees have lost all their leaves. But it is still a beautiful site compared to waking up where one has to have their shades drawn or only concrete or other homes to look upon. Yes, I do have my electronics on Sundays. I check Facebook, email and catch up on things via the internet. But it is at my leisure. No need to rush or get anywhere, well at least not until 10am Yoga.

I think I enjoy these peaceful mornings because they are peaceful. I can get lost in my own thoughts, my own views, my own priorities. With no one telling me or asking me for something. It is my natural state, alone. I am not one to have lots and lots of friends. I enjoy my own company and like getting caught up with myself. Sometimes life moves so fast, I forget who I am, what I believe and how I view the world. Would some people thing this is selfish? Egotistical? I hope not. I don’t think I know everything and I really don’t think the world revolves around me. It’s just as I’ve aged, I have come to realize that one may have friends and family, but you have to depend on yourself. You have to be OK with yourself. And how can you be OK with yourself, if you aren’t in touch with yourself? We are all changing every day. Our bodies age, our dreams change and we learn new things which may change how we look at the world around us. If you haven’t seen a friend in a while and finally catch up, these changes are so obvious. The same can be said for catching up with ourselves. I need these peaceful mornings to understand myself better. Absorb the new things I’ve learned during the week. And feel good about where I am going. That’s what I’ love about Sundays and peaceful mornings. So now let me get back to catching up with me…..

Leave a Reply

